More on Jokes

So last week I posted this.

Since then, my family has been given an overwhelming amount of support from friends and family. I’d be amazed if I wasn’t constantly reminded how everyone loved my dad. No really, we sat down and tried to think of anyone that didn’t like him and couldn’t.

As for myself, I haven’t had a moment to really think about any of it. A few years ago when a good friend of mine died of cancer, it was a different scenario. There was a whole year to prepare and build up angst, and I wasn’t responsible for anything when she died so I had the luxury of basically shutting down and feeling sorry for myself. Now, it was too sudden, too unbelievable. There are too many things that need to be taken care of immediately. I’ll grieve later when I have more time.

But! I’m actually not here to talk about my misery, I’m here to talk about how great my Twitter friends are. I wrote last week’s post in my notebook while waiting for the coroner to show up. Just to keep my mind occupied. I don’t know why I was inspired to write about a dumb joke, but it probably speaks volumes about my dad’s place in my life. And I ended it with a quiet request: “Know any dumb jokes?”. My mind was a little scattered, but the final line was very deliberate. I did this to separate my sad news from the punchline and to tie it together. And so people would know I was okay. Mostly though, a small part of me hoped I’d get a dumb joke or two.

Well this happened.

Kendra ‏@klmpeace

@Sethers lots of hugs for you, friend. what did the fish say when he swam in to a wall? Damn. that sucks. it really, really does.

Mary Martini‏ @katzzz712

@Sethers When I found out my toaster wasn’t waterproof…..I was shocked. I’m so sorry for your loss. Sending love to you and @libraryeliza

Leona ‏@layleevj

@Sethers What kind of socks do pirates wear? Arrrrrrrrrghyle! #sorry #sendinghugsandlove

Arlene Caruso ‏@beanlene

@sethers Hugging you and @libraryeliza virtually out here on the east coast. I love you two kids. What do calendars eat? Dates!

Matt‏ @temporalcube

@beanlene @Sethers @libraryeliza Borrowing from Star Trek, I’m going to add that they could  also eat sundae(y)s

Rachel Mainz‏ @libraryslady

@sethers Why did the teacher fail the cat? Because he was a cheetah

Caprice Joelle‏ @CapriceJoelle

@Sethers Why was the belt arrested? He held up some pants.

Marcie S.‏ @JustMarcie

@Sethers How can you tell that elephants like to swim? They always have their trunks on. // Thinking of you guys!

Rae ‏@Koi_librarian

@Sethers What did the zero say to the eight. Nice belt.

Lopie‏ @Lopielovesbooks

@Sethers A red ship and a blue ship crashed, the crew was marooned. If I could hug you on twitter I would.

Melissa Depper‏ @MelissaZD

@sethers PS: Why did the hipster burn his tongue?

Melissa Depper  ‏@MelissaZD

@sethers He drank his coffee before it was cool. :)

molliekay ‏@molliekay

@Sethers How much do pirates pay for their earrings? A buccaneer.

Liz Wong‏ @lizwongart

@sethers Why couldn’t the pony sing?

Because he was a little hoarse.

Tiffany‏ @TeaTiff

@Sethers What’s orange and sounds like a parrot?? A carrot!

Kate Shaw‏ @kc_shaw

@Sethers I missed that before, I’m so sorry. What do you call a boomerang that won’t come back? A stick.

Kate Shaw‏ @kc_shaw

@Sethers Also, why is an elephant big, gray and wrinkled? If it were small, white and round it would be an aspirin. <–my fave elephant joke

michelleness‏ @michelleness

@Sethers:  Did you hear about the cat who swallowed a ball of wool? She had mittens! #butseriously #imsosorry

Mary K‏ @daisycakes

@sethers I never gave you a joke: What do a peanut and a bicycle have in common? Neither one can play the piano. How are you?

Mary K‏ @daisycakes

@Sethers What’s green and goes “SLAM SLAM SLAM SLAM”? a 4-door pickle.

You guys. These jokes are terrible.

Thank you. You carried me through a very difficult day.

One thought on “More on Jokes

  1. […] there have been bright spots in the year. Mostly in the form of the amazing support I’ve found in friends throughout all my many, continuous and varied tragedies. NOW SOMETHING […]

Leave a Reply

