Five Little Chickens

I haven’t posted a Flannel Friday in a while because I haven’t finished any of the posts in my drafts! I’m lazy. But while cleaning out a drawer I found this silly rhyme that I don’t even remember writing. I mean, it’s more absurd than usual, even for me. SO HERE YA GO.

Five little chickens wishing they could soar.

One tried to fly and that left four.

Four little chickens wishing they were free.

One flew the coop and that left three.

Three little chickens eating some stew.

But one was a vegetarian so that left two.

Two little chickens going for a run.

One tripped and fell and that left one.

One little chicken learning how to skip.

She fell on her beak and that left zip.

Yeah. So. Not sure if anyone would use this version. Like I said, I should have more posts on the horizon, and I’m working on some new stuff for this storytime session that I am excited about. Ugly Fish flannel board level of excited.

Tagged , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Five Little Chickens

  1. Kendra says:

    It’s different, but like it! A welcome change from the typical Five Little somethings. But that chicken picture freaks me out. Beady little eyes. *shudder*

  2. I like the idea of a vegetarian chicken refusing to eat stew.

  3. Nice rhyme, freaky picture!

  4. jane says:

    You caught our attention with the totally freaky photo…”you lookin’ at me?” Cute rhyme.

  5. Lisa Mulvenna says:

    I am just happy that the picture isn’t flannelized. :) The rhyme will work great with bird or farm story times.

  6. That chicken has some attitude! As does your rhyme!

Leave a Reply

